Connect with us


Mount Cameroon Race Of Hope: 550 Athletes To Challenge The Chariots Of The Gods.

Some 550 Athletes have registered to take part in the 27th Edition of the Mount Cameroon Race Of Hope to take place on Saturday February 19, 2022.

The race has been launched by the minister of sports and physical education,  Professor Narcisse Muoelle Kombi today at the Molyko Omnisports Stadium in Buea.

The 550 Athletes cuts across the senior male and female categories, the junior, veteran and relay categories.


Cameroon dominates the number of athletes with over two-third of the total number.

Kenya dominates the number of foreign athletes this year with some 16 Athletes,  while countries like Morocco,  Congo,  France,  Tanzania,  Ethiopia and Chad all have few athletes in contention.

The 38 kilometers race will begin tomorrow Saturday at 7am at the Molyko Omnisports Stadium to the summit of Mount Cameroon and back.

Athletes To Watch

In the female category,  Tata Carine will be looking forward her fourth title in the competition, having surrendered the title to her closest rival Kitan Mildred last year.

For Kitan Mildred,  She will be in a hunt for a second successive title as she could be only the fifth woman to win the race two times in a role.

We can’t also forget record seven times champions, Ngwaya Yvonne as she could become the only woman to win the race a record eighth title in the competition.

The foreigner effect seems to be gaining grounds in recent years as Goldsmith Sally remains the last  female foriegner to win the race back in 1990.

Kenya’s Cheserek Agnes who finished third last year could be that female foreign athlete to win the race since 1990. Though she was to the first to reach the summit last year,  she finished third due to her weakness of descending the mountain.

Male Category

Five time winner, Gabsibium Godlove is the most successful male athlete in the competition. He may be aging out,  but still has one last energy to create another record for himself.  He finished second to Ali Mohamadou last year and will be looking forward for a revenge this time arround as he search for a record sixth crown.

Ali Mohamadou who won the race last year will be looking to defend his title, as he could be only the eighth man to win the race two times in a roll.

Winner of this year’s test race, Essombe Lyonga will be an athlete to watch in the male category.  It has been a huddle for the people of Fako Division since Reginald Esuka became the last Fako native to win the race in 1988.

Emerging winner of the test race and third in 2015,  the 33-year-old could end the long wait for the Fako people to see one of theirs win the race in over three decades.

Only John Ekema, David Ngou Njombe, Amos Evambe and Reginald Esuka are the four Fako men to win the race.

Also, Last year’s test race winner Hamadou Ibrahim could be another athletes to watch out for in this year’s race.

It should be noted that the winner backs home the sum of 10 million Francs CFA.



Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


Must See

More in Athletics