Connect with us


Qatar 20202 FIFA World Cup: Staggering Prize Money for the 32 Participant Nations

The 2022 FIFA World cup will be the 22nd edition of the world football jamboree regrouping the best national teams across the globe. From Sunday 20th of November to Sunday 18th of December, 32 nations will battle for the trophy and Fifa has set aside a total prize pool of $440 million for the World Cup 2022. The breakdown is as follows:

Champions: $42 million

Runners-up: $30 million
Third place: $27 million
Fourth place: $25 million
Fifth-eighth place: $68 million ($17 million per team)
Ninth-16th place: $104 million ($13 million per team)

17th-32nd place: $144 million ($9 million per team)

In addition, each team that has qualified will receive $1.5m ahead of the competition to cover preparation costs. In the 2018 edition, winners France took home a cheque of $38m

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


Must See

More in Football