Connect with us


TOTALENERGIES AWCON MOROCCO 2022: Facts and figures as 12 nations qualify for final phase.

The final round of qualifiers for the African women Cup of Nations were played this 23rd February  2022 with 12 Nations qualifying for the tournament that will be played in Morocco from the 2nd to the 23rd of July to 22.

Cameroon hit the record goal scoring in a single game for these qualifiers as they see pass The Gambian queens with an 8-0 home win at the Ahmadou Ahidjo stadium in Yaounde.

The 12 qualified nations

Morocco (Host),  Nigeria,  South Africa,  Cameroon,  Zambia,  Burundi,  Burkina Faso,  Tunisia,  Togo, Senegal,  Botswana,  Uganda

Host Morocco

Exempt from the qualifiers, Morocco will be hosting the tournament for the first time. They have twice figured in the competition in 1998 and 2000 but never went beyond the group stage.

4 nations make their 1st appearance
  • Burundi
  • Togo
  • Burkina Faso
  • Botswana
3 Bigwigs present

3 of 4 Africa’s best women teams and most represented will be present for the final phase.

  • Nigeria (Record 14 appearances, 11 times champions of Africa)
  • South Africa (13 appearances, 5 times runner’s up)
  • Cameroon (13 appearances, 3 times runner’s up)
Ghana absent

Ghana will be absent from the tournament after being host of the last edition and haven participated in 12 final phases of the AWCON

The final draw will be held in an announced date. The twelve teams will be drawn into three groups of four teams, with the hosts Morocco automatically seeded and assigned to Position A1 in the draw. The seedings will be based on their performance in 2018 Africa Women Cup of Nations final tournament and 2022 tournament’s qualification.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


Must See

More in Football